Shep21's Blog….Leadership, marketing & customer service through the printed words of many

Creative sales November 16, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — shep21 @ 8:12 am

Stole this from someone…can’t remember where…my apologies to the author

One of the things about sales is it needs to be fun — and to be creative. I am the most creative one in my department, and take big risks to catch a prospects attention. I do it for success and for entertainment, and it works for me.You made a passing comment about sending a prospect collateral in a trash can and confessing that’s where it will probably end up anyway. Well, I liked that idea so much, I gave it a try. I went to the store and bought a pretty, little, blue trash can and put in it:
1) Our collateral
2) A McDonald’s coupon book
3) A picture of a beautiful woman I cut out of a magazine, and
4) A letter that said the following: “My Dearest Tony, I have decided that even though it appears you don’t recognize a good thing when you see it, I am still willing to buy you lunch, just on a different scale. I have enclosed some McDonald’s gift certificates for your enjoyment. We both understand the reason for the schmoozing lunch is to expose a prospect to the benefits of a product. Since I am still buying you lunch, I have also enclosed some information on our software tools. But, in order to make things as painless as possible for you, I have taken the liberty of sending them to you in a pretty, blue trash can, since I’m sure this is where they will eventually end up.

Now Tony, it may still be possible for you to upgrade your experience with me, but my schedule is very tight for the week that I’ll be in NY. There are two reasons for this. One is that I represent a great company with a damn good security, compliance and configuration product, and the other is, well…I’ve included a picture of myself…you do the math. If by chance you do find yourself at the Info Security Show at the Javits Convention Center December 7th and 8th, look me up. Who knows, I just may be in an odd, Big Mac kinda mood.”

I finally heard from him for the first time in 2 years. His response was, “I like your approach, and I am interested in your product.” I think my next expense report will contain a line item for several more pretty, blue trash cans.

 

Leave a Reply

